Spring Cleaning

Keeping up With Cleaning and Organizing Your Home and Personal Space

People are often surprised when they find out that I tidy my room everyday and do some sort of cleaning at least twice a week. My room is by no means neat and tidy. I have a half organized closet, a few boxes of goodness knows what under my bed, and a shelving unit that holds even more boxes of who-knows-what.

On a regular basis I walk into my room, look around, and sigh. I’ve given up telling myself that the room needs to be organized and cleaned from corner to corner. I’m by no means a hoarder, far from it, but I was easily on the path to becoming one. I had to discipline myself to stop becoming a collector of various items. I got rid of my angel collections, my DIY projects, and multiple cookbooks. I closed my Ebay account and stopped collecting Blue Mountain Pottery. By giving up collections, I was able to free myself from a lot of clutter and the endless maintenance and organization that is required.

cleaning insanity

I was fortunate enough to find some very simple and spiritual based home organization books. One book only required 15 minutes a day to become a more organized person and live a simpler life. Unfortunately I can’t remember the name, but the purpose of the book was to live a simpler life by ridding one’s self of clutter and unnecessary household stuff. I followed the prompts in the book and slowly over time I was able to become better organized, decrease clutter and live a simpler life. Things had changed so much that for the first time in years, I was able to move to a new home in one trip using only one truck!

For those of us with ADHD it is more of a challenge to maintain an orderly and clean home. There are plenty of books available for home organization, but most of them are not well suited for people with ADHD, as authors Judith Kolberg and Kathleen Nadeau write, “People with ADD often try to head “EAST“, doing Everything At The Same Time (EAST). They may begin multiple organizing projects with great enthusiasm – purchasing storage boxes, shelving, and paint but months later shelving hasn’t been taken out of the boxes, and the paint cans are still unopened. To change this self-defeating habit,  remember EAST is least successful.” Instead, the authors suggest taking on one project to get started, and complete it.

How do you decide which one to choose? I can only speak for myself, but I tend to address what ever mess is costing me the most problems in life. For me that would be the mess on my desk. If my desk is messy I am unable to complete my work. I need desk space in order to complete my assignments. Everyone is going to have a different mess that is a number one problem; find your biggest problem and start cleaning up that area.

Before even deciding what area to address, it is important to bring your intentions to God in prayer. It is easy to become overwhelmed, filled with anxiety or ignore the clutter; this is why we need to take this problem to God in asking for proper insight into seeing what needs to be done and the spiritual strength to get the work done.

Attached is a great blog post from Deb Wolfe over at Counting My Blessings. She addresses Hoarding from a spiritual point of view, but what she writes can easily be applied to the cluttered surroundings experienced by those with ADD. Her page can be accessed by clicking the page link below.

http://countingmyblessings.com/hoarders-jesus-and-prayer/

Lord I'm Overwhelmed direction today

