Introvert + ADHD= Huh?

Time to Introvert!
Time to Introvert!

Introvert ADHD

Introverted persons with ADHD really do exist! Some might be thinking, “How can someone be introverted when all the symptoms of ADHD are extroverted.” Well, the idea that people with ADHD are extroverts usually stems from cultural misunderstandings as to what ADHD is, and their symptoms.

Introvert:

“Introversion (I)

I like getting my energy from dealing with the ideas, pictures, memories, and reactions that are inside my head, in my inner world. I often prefer doing things alone or with one or two people I feel comfortable with. I take time to reflect so that I have a clear idea of what I’ll be doing when I decide to act. Ideas are almost solid things for me. Sometimes I like the idea of something better than the real thing. ” Adapted from Looking at Type: The Fundamentals, by Charles R. Martin (CAPT 1997)” From: myersbriggs.org

I’m not certified in MBTI assesments, but if these are the characteristics of Introversion and you as a person with ADHD have these temperaments, then it would be fair to say that you might very well be an introvert.

I am an introvert. On the MBTI I have always scored as an INTJ. People are surprised to find that I am an introvert. I then have to go through the explanation that introverts are not cave dwellers who spend all their time hiding from fellow human beings. My ADHD symptoms also make it a bit more difficult for others to sense my introversion.

People forget that there are 8 types of introverts within the MBTI. It wouldn’t be realistic to believe that all introverts, or extroverts were the same.

source: vox.com
source: vox.com

The challenge with ADHD is to be aware of any behavioural problems associated with your specific introvert type. Being an introvert is perfectly healthy, but for instance, it is not healthy to spend too much time alone or too much time thinking about solutions without being able to make decisions within a timely manner. With ADHD it is easy for the positives of being an introvert to become negatives.

Christians tend to their introverted needs with some of the following:

Through participation is liturgical traditions and creeds

Volunteering and serving within the church behind the scenes (e.g. Media, Kitchen, Administration)

A regular and consistent habit of prayer and meditation (in solitude)

Partaking in daily devotionals and times of deep reflection

Having a preference for small group gatherings (e.g. bible study, mom and tot groups)

Being an introvert isn’t exclusive to Inattentive-ADHD.

From WebMD:

  • Combined ADHD (the most common subtype), which involves symptoms of of both inattentiveness and hyperactivity/impulsivity
  • Inattentive ADHD (previously known as ADD), which is marked by impaired attention and concentration
  • Hyperactive-impulsive ADHD, which is marked by hyperactivity without inattentiveness

If you notice, the criteria above does not match the MBTI description of an introvert. Introversion is not an impairment of attention and concentration. Introversion is not the same as inattentive.  An extroverted person can have Inattentive-ADHD and an introverted person can have Hyperactive-impulsive or Combined ADHD.

A Comparison
A Comparison
